Backstage News, Front Row Pics

Voices Of Extreme (VOX) Releases New Lyric Video for “Numb” via Rock Revolt Magazine


 Members of NY-Based Rock Band Boast All-Star Collaboration Credits Like Van Halen, Thin Lizzy and More

 New Album Break The Silence Hits Stores October 29

Today, New York hard rockers Voices Of Extreme and Rock Revolt Magazine have teamed up to bring you the band’s brand new lyric video for the track “Numb.” Watch the video exclusively and read an in-depth interview now via Rock Revolt Magazine at HERE. “Numb” is cut from the band’s new album Break The Silence, hitting stores October 29 via Smash-Mouth Records.

Vocalist Don Chaffin explains how the lyrics behind the track focus on society’s relationship with the media, sharing, “‘Numb’ was written with the concept of a social ‘sped-up and fed-up’ society that leaves individuals in a disoriented state as so many different phases of the world’s conflicts and woes are being force fed via the media network channels.”

Don continues by explaining the story behind the lyric video: “’Friend of the band’ “Mike Freemantle” was kind enough to portray an average business man coming home from the hustle and bustle of N.Y. City and trying to ‘walk off’ all of the pressure that has filled his mind and thoughts during the course of his stressful day. His walk home is a ‘cleansing’ of sorts as he tries to shake off all of the imagery of social corruption in his mind while his path eventually leads him back to his guitar, finding the ultimate release in his musical environment.”

Break The Silence features some of the band’s best songs to date. Voices Of Extreme is a powerful hard rock ensemble that will appeal to fans of dynamic, harmonic metal and melodic rock. All of the members have extensive experience in the industry, as you can read below.

Break The Silence track listing


  1. Damned
  2. Tell Me What It Takes
  3. Apocalypse
  4. Break the Silence
  5. Numb
  6. Did It Again
  7. Hollow
  8. Made of Stone
  9. Blown Away
  10. Sorry
  11. Pain
  12. More than Anything


“There are plenty of catchy hooks, powerful vocals and killer solos — and do you really need much more than that?” ~

 “…an intriguing mixture of rocking/ballsy new and classic older styles.” ~

 “Incredibly melodic…”­ ~

The Band VOX

Vox imageVOX was created by childhood friends Don Chaffin and Bob Brennan. The two started working on the recordings for their second release in late 2009 when Bob Brennan and Nick Gertsson returned to New York and reunited with Don Chaffin.

VOX debuted in 2005 with the amazing Hypocrite, a record that was produced by Danny Spitz (Anthrax) in 2005. Their debut CD immediately found favor with critics and listeners alike, propelling them to the forefront of metal’s hierarchy. Experts at their craft, VOX has earned song writing credits on Van Halen’s DVD entitled The Early Years, as well as endorsements with ESP, Daddario Strings, Planetwaves Cables, Paiste Cymbals. Over the past seven years, VOX. has shared the stage with Godsmack, Disturbed, Alice in Chains ,Powerman 5000, Buckcherry, 10 Years, Dope, Dropkick Murphys and many more, proving their determination as a premier live act on the Eastern Seaboard. Recently, the band’s lead singer, Don Chaffin toured with Dan Spitz in their high profile band Red Lamb (co-produced by Dave Mustaine of Megadeth and Dan Spitz) which embarked on a United States tour that consisted of 25 dates  in 2013.

 More about the members of VOX

  • Lead vocalist Don Chaffin of Huntington, NY toured the United States as lead vocalist of Red Lamb with Dan Spitz from Anthrax. Red Lamb’s music was produced by Dave Mustaine of Megadeth. Chaffin has also completed studio work with Kasenetz and Katz and has been the lead vocalist for Ram Jam since 1994. Don Chaffin and Ram Jam have acted as tour support for the likes of Foreigner, Godsmack, Disturbed, Dr. John, Steve Howe of Yes, Robbie Krieger of The Doors and Vanilla Fudge, and has done additional studio work with Jim Bralower and Ace Frehley of Kiss.


  • Bassist Bob Brennan hails from Boca Raton, FL. Brennan toured the US with Tongue N’ Cheek in 1992, and has completed studio work with Jon Gatto of the Good Rats and Dan Spitz formerly of Anthrax. Brennan has worked with Tony Bongiovi of Power Station Studios and co-wrote music on the Van Halen DVD documentary The Early Years. Brennan has also done live work with Chris Rizzola of Steel Heart and studio work and live touring with Nicko McBrain of Iron Maiden.


  • Guitarist Nick Gertsson of Vimmerby, Sweden moved to the United States in 1992 to attend G.I.T. (Musicians Institute, formerly the Guitar Institute of Technology) and graduated in 1993. Gertsson has worked with Nicko McBrain (Iron Maiden), Dave Spitz (Black Sabbath, Great White) Chris Risola (Steelheart), Dan Spitz (Anthrax), Patrick Johansson (Yngwie Malmsteen) Bjorn Englen (Yngwie Malmsteen) and more.


  • Drummer John Cappadona of Farmingdale, NY performed with Thin Lizzy in Donnington, England, filling in for Tommy Aldridge at Donnington Park Stadium. Cappadona is the current drummer for Almost Queen, an international tribute act, authentically performing the music of Queen. Almost Queen has performed in over 23 states as well as Mexico, Canada, and South America. Cappadona has been in various original bands including Agentz, Beggar’s Opera, and Livesay.


 For more information on Voices Of Extreme, please visit or

 Check out some of the band’s music videos HERE  and HERE


Leave a Comment