Backstage News, Front Row Pics

Live Version Of Metallica’s “Master of Puppets” from Metallica Through the Never Currently Premiering Via Rolling Stone

Photo by Ross Halfin Photography

Photo by Ross Halfin Photography

Metallica Through the Never  (Music From The Motion Picture) to be Released on September 24th


mttn-theatrical-one-sheetMetallica today revealed a new live version of their legendary track “Master of Puppets.” The song is currently premiering via Rolling Stone and is featured on Metallica Through The Never (Music from the Motion Picture), the soundtrack companion to the forthcoming groundbreaking 3D feature film, Metallica Through The Never.



Watch the official film trailer here.

The two disc CD set will be released on Blackened Recordings, the band’s own record label, on September 24th and highlights last year’s career-spanning sets at Rexall Place in Edmonton and Rogers Arena in Vancouver, where the band filmed all performance footage featured in the film.

To pre-order Metallica Through the Never (Music from the Motion Picture) on iTunes, click HERE.

There will also be a vinyl edition of the soundtrack album available in both 33 1/3RPM and special limited numbered 45RPM versions later in the fall.  See below for a complete track listing.


through-the-never-soundtrack_lgMetallica Through the Never stars Metallica, one of the most popular, influential rock bands in history. In this music-driven, 3D motion picture event, award-winning filmmaker Nimród Antal immerses audiences in a bracing, raw and visceral cinematic experience with spectacular live performance footage of Metallica’s most iconic songs ~ created exclusively for film ~ combined with a bold, narrative story featuring imagery drawn from the band’s trailblazing iconography. Emerging young star Dane DeHaan (A Place Beyond the PinesKill Your DarlingsThe Amazing Spider-Man 2 & 3) portrays Trip, a young roadie sent on an urgent mission during Metallica’s roaring live set in front of a sold-out arena.  The film features dazzling pyrotechnics, the most elaborate live-performance stage ever built, and state-of-the-art 3-D photography, captured using up to 24 cameras simultaneously. Picturehouse will release Metallica Through the Never in North America on September 27, 2013 exclusively in over 300 IMAX® 3D Theatres, and will move into additional theaters on October 4, 2013.

To purchase tickets, click HERE

Metallica Through The Never (Music from the Motion Picture)

Disc 1

  1. The Ecstasy of Gold 
  2. Creeping Death 
  3. For Whom The Bell Tolls 
  4. Fuel 
  5. Ride The Lightning 
  6. One 
  7. The Memory Remains 
  8. Wherever I May Roam 
  9. Cyanide 
  10.  …And Justice For All 

Disc 2

  1. Master of Puppets 
  2. Battery 
  3. Nothing Else Matters 
  4. Enter Sandman 
  5. Hit the Lights 
  6. Orion 
  7. Metallica Through the Never ~ Official Theatrical Trailer (HD)
Metallica, one of the most popular and influential rock bands in history, is James Hetfield (vocals, guitar), Lars Ulrich (drums), Kirk Hammett (guitar, background vocals) and Robert Trujillo (bass, background vocals).

Ross Halfin Photography